Brackin Law Firm Logo


Baldwin County, AL

Call Us Now

(251) 943-4040​

What to Do After Getting Hit by an Uninsured Driver in Alabama


Getting into a car accident is stressful enough, but discovering that the other driver doesn’t have insurance can worsen the situation. Fortunately, there are some things you can do to protect your rights if an uninsured driver has hit you.

This article will discuss the insurance requirements for drivers in Alabama. We will also discuss what you should do after you’ve been involved in an accident with an uninsured driver.

Car Insurance Requirements in Alabama

All drivers in Alabama are required to carry automobile insurance. The minimum liability limits in Alabama are 25/50/25. That means that every driver is required to have a policy that provides:

  • Bodily injury liability insurance per person of at least $25,000
  • Bodily injury liability insurance from one accident of at least $50,000
  • Property damage insurance per accident of at least $25,000

Uninsured Motorist Coverage

An uninsured motorist is a driver who doesn’t have a car insurance policy that meets the state-mandated minimums. You can add uninsured motorist coverage (UM) to your auto policy, which will pay for any damages or medical expenses caused by an uninsured driver or if the driver leaves the accident scene.

Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Underinsured motorists don’t have policy limits covering all injuries or damages caused by an accident. Underinsured motorist coverage (UIM) can also be added to your auto policy. It will protect you if you’re in an accident caused by a driver without enough insurance coverage to cover the injuries and damage costs.

What To Do After Being Hit by an Uninsured Driver in Alabama

Adding UM and UIM coverage to your existing auto policies can help you protect yourself before you get into an accident. Here are some tips on what you should do after you’ve been in an accident.

1. Call the Police

Per Alabama law (Alabama Vehicle Code § 32-10-5), law enforcement must be called if an accident results in injury, death, or excessive property damage. While it is a legal requirement in most instances, it’s also beneficial because it provides a record of the accident, which can help your UM/UIM insurance claim or if you have to go to court.

2. Do Not Accept any Cash from the Uninsured Driver

The thing about being in a car accident with an uninsured driver is that they know they don’t have insurance and are breaking the law. They sometimes offer cash to the crash victim to avoid the legal consequences, hoping they won’t seek legal action. There are a few reasons why you should reject their offer.

  • Likely, you won’t know the extent of your injuries or the damage to your vehicle until some time after the accident. Accepting money at the scene may not fully compensate you for all damages and injuries.
  • If you have obvious injuries at the scene, you may be entitled to additional compensation, such as pain and suffering or lost wages.
  • It’s possible that your injuries could develop into something more severe after the accident. If you accept money at the scene, the insurance company could use this information to deny your claim.

3. Exchange Information With the Other Driver

Get the other driver’s contact information. The information you should get at the bare minimum should be the following:

  • Name
  • Phone number
  • Address
  • License plate number
  • Vehicle information
  • Auto insurance information (if they have it)

4. Do Not Admit Fault in the Accident

Alabama is a contributory negligence state. If you’re slightly at fault for an accident, the court and insurance companies will deny your claims.

Since uninsured drivers face criminal penalties, they will likely listen to every word you say at the scene, hoping you slip up and say something they can use to prove you were at fault for the accident.

5. Seek Medical Assistance Immediately After the Crash

A car accident can cause obvious injuries, such as broken bones. Other injuries, such as whiplash, could take time to diagnose. It’s also likely that the other driver will try to say that your injuries were caused by something other than the accident.

Seeing a doctor as soon as possible after an accident can help strengthen your UI/UIM claim or your legal case, if applicable. It can also weaken any accusations by the other driver.

6. Gather as Much Evidence at the Scene as Possible

You should note as much information as possible about the accident scene and get the other driver’s personal information. Note the time of day, weather, road conditions, and other information that could have affected the accident. Taking pictures of any relevant evidence is also recommended.

Turn to Brackin Law Firm If You’ve Been Involved in an Accident With an Uninsured Driver

As challenging and frustrating as it may be when you’ve been involved in an accident with an uninsured driver, understanding your rights, taking the appropriate steps after the accident, and hiring an experienced car accident attorney to represent you when needed can protect your interests and allow you to pursue fair compensation for damages.

At Brackin Law Firm, we understand how terrifying it can be to be involved in a car accident. If you’ve been injured in a car accident in Fairhope, Foley, or the surrounding areas and are looking for an Alabama accident attorney to fight for the compensation you deserve after an accident, we can help. Our team will design a detailed plan to take advantage of every strategic opportunity available to get you the results you desire in your case.

Contact us today, and let’s fight to get you the compensation you deserve.

call for a consultation

More Articles

Contact Brackin Law Firm Today!

We produce results by getting our clients what they are entitled to receive.

(251) 943-4040

Tell Us About Your Case